Skip to content

Nothing Like a Deadline…

December 21, 2011

…To spur you into action!

Last February, I started this blog because I hit a point where I decided I needed to be more proactive in procuring a mate. I signed up for a certain free dating website and figured that while I was at it, I might as well document the hilarity of the clueless nerd trying to find the proton to her neutron. It doesn’t help that I second-guess everything when it comes to dating. It’s my only true neurosis. I’ve been known to dissect a date before it’s even happened! That’s a talent you can’t just teach someone. I’ve, thankfully, hidden this from most dates but my friends have had to talk me out of some pretty interesting mental concerns.

I also wanted a place where I could ask questions I didn’t want to pester my friends with, or questions they couldn’t answer like why hasn’t he called, or seriously, it’s been three days, why hasn’t he called or I’ve sent 27 texts in 12 hours and he hasn’t responded to one of them, what’s wrong with him? Okay, okay, I’m not actually that bad. (Or maybe I am and that’s why I’m still single, I just don’t realize it.) I don’t know if anonymously asking the internet dating questions will result in getting any answers, but there’s a better chance of an answer on here than there is if I leave the questions in my head.

Back to last February. I posted a single post (which I took down, stop looking for it) and then life got parental-health-complicated, and my plans to date fell by the wayside. In the meantime, this blog sat alone and neglected… much like me on a Saturday night. It probably would have remained that way except I’ve reached a crossroads in my life: I need to find someone or I need to commit to single-hood for four years while I go through the adoption process. It’s not that I can’t date while I’m adopting (and I’m totally open to finding a guy who’s along for the ride) but I can’t change my relationship-status while I’m in the process of adopting or else I have to start all over again. That’s the kicker. The incredibly expensive kicker.

I got chatting with a guy on Saturday and while I sat there wondering can he tell that I want to swap DNA? and still managing to carry on a semi-decent conversation, it occurred to me that this was a guy I’d be willing to put adoption plans on hold for. That, of course, got me thinking about dating again and the facts that a) I’m completely hopeless at it and b) I have a limited amount of time in which I can find someone I don’t want to kill for snoring in bed.

So here we are. Back to the plan to put myself out there and date more. Well, why not resurrect this blog as well so you can all laugh at my ineptitude? And it won’t be just about dating, it’ll be about anything that affects my life as a single nerd female.

Don’t be surprised if that equates to a lot of posts about my cats.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

