Skip to content

Oh For Two

January 2, 2012

It’s the second day of a new year and that excites me. The year of 2011 was less-than-stellar for me. It wasn’t a horrible year full of so many trials and tribulations that I questioned whether I could go on, but it wasn’t an easy year. It was stressful. It was long. It was often difficult. In amongst the stressful were some wonderfully amazing moments, but overall, I was happy to see the backside of 2011. It’s not a year that I’m anxious to repeat.

The year ended with a phone call from the Coffee Guy on the last Friday. The call came in after 11:00pm while I socialized with a friend in public. It didn’t seem like the appropriate place to answer the phone and scream “fuck off” so I let it go to voice mail. He was either drunk or he has the creepiest phone voice in the world. Perhaps a combination of the two? Either way, I haven’t responded. I’m of two minds if I should text him a ‘fuck off’ or just leave it radio silence. Radio silence requires less effort on my part (and less confrontation in general) so for now, it’s winning.

I left a pretty open invite to Christmas Party Guy that I’d be open to getting together sometime to chat or play tonsil hockey (okay, so that part was more of a subtle subtext) but so far, no dice. No email, no text, no running into him on the street (we live in the same neighbourhood) despite camping outside his house, nothing. Not even a restraining order. It’s like he’s giving me the radio silence. If this is Karma, then Karma is totally that bitch in high school I always hated but had to be nice to because she was dating my friend.

And that’s how I’m starting 2012: one guy I never want to hear from again and one guy I really wish would contact me. It’s a fabulous 0/2 start for this endeavour. I was a nerd growing up; I’m not used to getting ‘0’ marks on something I do.

Tomorrow, I punch up my online profile and find some free-meet-people-shit going on in my city over the next few weeks. But I can’t do it today, I need to sit outside Christmas Party Guy’s window with my binoculars.

Kidding!

That’s tomorrow night.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 4:51 pm

    i love this blog.

    please keep on writing…i will keep on commiserating in the comments section. kapeesh?

    • January 8, 2012 8:24 pm

      Thanks! I love this blog too, I mean, I love your blog too… đŸ˜‰

      It’s a mutual blog-love-fest!

Leave a Reply

