Skip to content

Fresh Eyes on Old Ground

January 8, 2012

My first thought when I decided to get off the couch and actually make an effort to find someone to watch Sherlock with was that I would have to find new things to do and places to go, attend art exhibitions, expand my circle of interests, leave my apartment! And while I still think that it would be good for me to do those things – save perhaps expanding my circle of interests, I already have a lot of loves thankyouverymuch – I was reminded today that perhaps I just need to keep my eyes open while I do the same things I always do.

Well, eyes open and be willing to start conversations.

I met a guy in the coffee shop today. I know, I know, I should know better. But this is different, I swear! We were sitting next to each other, I struck up a conversation, we laughed for the hour or so we were both there, we ended up getting into a conversation with another table, and when I left first, there was a backward glance-and-smile which was returned. See? Different. I didn’t give him my phone number so, you know, also different!

Plus the idea of kissing this guy doesn’t make me react like a 17-year-old girl finding a spider in an outhouse. Very different from The Coffee Guy (who, incidentally, appears to have taken the hint *fingers crossed*). And while I’m not about to say I want to marry him! or change my facebook relationship status based on one afternoon of giggles, I will definitely be willing to exchange contact information should our paths cross again.

I’ve decided that this week I’m going to work on keeping my eyes open to the possibility of future nasty-dance partners while going about my usual day-to-day. I’m going to smile at that guy I’d normally avoid eye contact with because he’s way too gorgeous and out of my league. Fuck it, I’m a fucking amazing person and he should be fucking grateful I’d like to chat with him. *snap* I think I might put that on a post-it and stick it on my mirror as my weekly mantra. Who else will explain to him that while Luther did write the 95 Theses, he never nailed the document to a church door? (It was a private letter to his fellow clergymen. It was they who copied and distributed it. No nailing of the document to church doors by anyone.) Who else will be able to explain why BSG has that stupid filler episode in which a certain character dies? (I’m not giving it away here in case any of you have plans to watch BSG at some point which you totally should!) This is why any guy should be falling over themselves to chat me up! I know shit, yo!

This might also be the week I try to watch the potty mouth. Keyword in that sentence being ‘might’.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

